Dawson PPD awards $3,000 in scholarships

Mortar board, graduation(April 18, 2017) Lexington, Neb.Dawson Public Power District has awarded $3,000 in scholarships to two local graduating seniors. Each senior was presented with $1,500 to help further their education.

“We are fortunate to have so many talented youth in the area,” said Dawson PPD Communications Specialist Chelsea Gengenbach. “Dawson PPD believes in giving back to the areas and communities it serves, and we are thankful for the opportunity to support these individuals.”

William Siegmann of North Platte was granted the 2017 Dawson PPD Utility Line Scholarship. He is the son of Rusty Jr. and Angie

William Siegmann

William Siegmann

Siegmann and will graduate from North Platte High School in May. William plans to attend Northeast Community College this fall to pursue a two-year degree in Utility Line.

“Working with electricity, loving to be outside and not being scared of heights made the utility lineman career a great choice for me,” Siegmann said.

Leah Treffer of Cozad has been awarded the District’s newest scholarship, the Dawson PPD STEM Scholarship. STEM stands for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. She is the daughter of Bruce and Christy Treffer and will graduate from Lexington High School in May. Leah plans to pursue an undergraduate degree in biology and a graduate degree in livestock genetics.  She hopes to become a genetic engineer specializing in livestock.

Leah Treffer

Leah Treffer

“I have been blessed by living in the country around animals,” Treffer said. “Showing horses, cattle, and other projects in 4-H has taught me the value of quality work and perseverance.”

Dawson Public Power District is a Nebraska rural electric utility system that serves south central Nebraska along the Platte River Valley. Organized in 1937, Dawson PPD provides service to more than 23,000 electric meters and maintains over 5,800 miles of power lines. The district’s 5,000 square miles territory includes all of the rural areas in Dawson and Buffalo Counties, approximately two-thirds of Gosper County, a third of Lincoln County and parts of Custer, Sherman and Frontier Counties. Dawson PPD also serves several villages including Hershey, Maxwell, Brady, Farnam, Eustis, Elwood, Eddyville, Smithfield, Overton, Sumner, Miller, Riverdale, Amherst, Odessa and Pleasanton. To learn more, visit www.DawsonPower.com.


What our customers say

An informed customer is our greatest asset.