(308) 324-2386

Dawson PPD’s board voted to retain the same officers for 2024. At the January 4 meeting, Dan Muhlbach of Kearney was voted President of the board. Craig Wietjes of Riverdale is the Vice President. The Treasurer is Page Peterson of Gothenburg. Legal Counsel Bronson Malcom will continue as Secretary.

Irrigation customer meetings will be held in North Platte on January 23, Kearney on January 25, and Lexington on January 30. Agenda items include policies, incentive programs and the load management program. Meeting details are available on the District’s website. Customers are asked to RSVP by January 16 if they plan to attend.

While the District’s operating expenses are about four percent higher than budget, revenues also exceed the November budget projection by $5.1 million. To date, Dawson PPD has added $8.25 million net to the district’s 2023 plant value without adding to long-term debt.

Dawson PPD’s metering system will need to be replaced within the next five years. The current system, which has been in place for over 10 years, will be phased out by the manufacturer as they change to new technology. The staff is considering several solutions and will report their findings to the board. Because this will be a major purchase, a Request for Proposal or RFP will be issued, asking vendors for information and pricing.

The board went into executive session to discuss a potential agreement with The Central Nebraska Public Power and Irrigation District for the purchase of power from the Jeffrey Hydro.
Board members discussed the process to hire a general manager to succeed Gwen Kautz, who has announced plans to retire at the end of the year.

Dawson PPD directors participate in many industry organizations. Craig Wietjes was recently elected to serve as the Secretary/Treasurer for the Mid-West Electric Consumers Association. Mid-West promotes and protects the interest of federal power customers and consumers within the Missouri River Basin. Dawson PPD customers benefit from low-cost, federally generated hydropower during irrigation season. Midwest’s directors represent utilities in Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming and Nebraska.

Translate »